Transatlantic Free-trade Treaties – The member states approve the CETA, the EU is ‘ready to sign’ with Canada

The 28 EU states adopted the clauses that make up the CETA on Friday evening. The EU is now ‘ready to sign’, the European Council has announced.

The CETA had been blocked by Belgium. Prime Minister Charles Michel received letters from Federal authorities giving him full power to sign the treaty on Belgium’s behalf on Friday evening.

Wallonia initially turned it down. Because of this, Belgium was only able to give its agreement on Tuesday, which meant the EU and Canada could officially validate the treaty.

Related posts

Leave a Comment